Teaser Tuesday 8

23 March 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

This one is Marie Brennan’s first novel Doppelganger, which also seems to have been reissued as Warrior a couple of years ago. The sequel is still Witch, but unfortunately there’s no book three!

Mirage brushed one hand against the opposite wrist, drawing his gaze. Her sleeve covered the scar, but he understood. They were blood-oathed to their Hunt. Catching Avalanche in Vilardi was more important than pretty much anything else. (p. 83)

7 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 8”

  1. Old Kitty Says:

    Lovely! Very sensual in so few words – something I can only aspire too!

    Take care
    x

  2. Carin Says:

    Oh…that’s a good teaser! Sounds like a good read. Thanks for stopping by and visiting my teaser at A Little Bookish.

    In regards to your comment about the names in the Sword of Truth series, I agree! I wasn’t thinking Warren though. I was thinking Jedediah from Stone of Tears. I actually laughed out loud when I read that!


  3. Hi Carin, welcome! Jedediah, good gosh… that’s even worse… 🙂

  4. AlexJ Says:

    Been meaning to ask how you selected your pen name. (Since Alex is my name, but I think that’s where the similarity ends.)


  5. An intense teaser. I hope that you enjoy your book. Here’s My Teaser


  6. @ Alex – good question! There have been Alexs in the family but no-one else is using it at the moment; it feels like one of the most common names for British women my age; and I don’t know any Alexs personally, so I don’t feel as if I’m stepping on anyone else’s feet. (Yes, I know criteria 2 and 3 look as if they ought to disprove each other 🙂 )

  7. AlexJ Says:

    Thanks for letting me know! Actually, Alex would be a really unique name for a woman here in the States.


Leave a comment