Teaser Tuesday 5

2 March 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

This time it’s How to Paint a Dead Man by Sarah Hall. I’m not sure what I think: I’ve not engaged with at least two of the four voices yet, which will make it a bit of a slog if it keeps on like this, but that’s not very teaser-y. Sorry, book.

You’ve begun to eat meat again after a decade of being vegetarian. You eat it rare, savouring the wet iron on your tongue. Venison. Liver. (p. 34)

10 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 5”

  1. Miss Moppet Says:

    Hm, second person. I’ve never tried a book written in this point of view.

    I enjoy both venison and liver – but not rare!!! I like venison well done with cranberry jelly on the side.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!


  2. Hi, and welcome! The chances are only a quarter of it or so will turn out to be in second… so don’t let that put you off 🙂


  3. What an odd teaser. Enjoy your book. Here’s Mine.

  4. Aimee Says:

    oooh, love me some wet iron for dinner Alex! Great teaser.

    x
    Aimee


  5. Interesting. And why is he/she eating meat again now? Or maybe I don’t want to know! Excellent teaser!
    Here’s mine.


  6. Now that would be telling! 😉

  7. tarynwanderer Says:

    Ooh, I like this! It’s sensual and just a little bit creepy. Great teaser!

    Thanks for visiting bookwanderer!


  8. Interesting teaser. I’ve just gone back to being veggie! How funny!

    I hope he’s taking his time with the sequels so that they are fantastic rather than churning them out to make money!

  9. Old Kitty Says:

    Oooooh what is going on here??!

    Very intriguing. Who is watching who?

    I get a feeling this born again carnivore is a bad ‘un…!

    Take care
    x


  10. Do you know you’ve all actually made me feel a lot more excited about this book than I was this morning! Thank you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

