Teaser Tuesday 7

16 March 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

The City and the City by China Miéville. This has been amazing – and all the more poignant since there are two particular cities I can’t believe it’s not meant to be directly about, even though the chances are it isn’t…

Very occasionally a young Ul Qoman who does not know the area of their city that Ul Qomatown crosshatches will blunder up to ask directions of an ethnically Ul Qoman Besźel-dweller, thinking them his or her compatriots. The mistake is quickly detected – there is nothing like being ostentatiously unseen to alarm – and Breach are normally merciful. (p. 54)

7 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 7”

  1. Old Kitty Says:

    Hi

    What an enigmatic quote – I had to re-read it a few times and it becomes more mysterious and intriguing.. how bizarre!

    It’s the “And Breach are normally merciful”.

    So intriguing!!! And what a title. The City and the City (also love the author’s name!).

    Thanks for this!
    Take care
    x

  2. Aimee Says:

    is this an adult or a young adult genre, Alex? The only book i’ve got of China’s is Un-Lun-Dun…and I dont think its meant to be poignant (though I could be wrong). I wonder what other types of books are up China’s sleeve…this book sounds intriguing.

    x
    Aimee

  3. Miss Moppet Says:

    Oh, I think I’ve heard of this one, although I can’t remember where. I didn’t know it referred to anywhere in particular though!


  4. @ Old Kitty – I am so tempted to explain more but I’ll just ruin the impression for when you finally read it! As you definitely should!

    (That quotation’s probably quite confusing from a point-of-view point of view, now that I look at it again. But they were all going to be like that.)

    @ Aimee – Un-Lun-Dun is his only YA, so the narrative and worldbuilding are a bit more conventional than his other stuff… His first three novels were actually, I think the only way I can describe them is, neo-Dickensian anarchist dystopian city fantasy (I don’t want to say urban fantasy because there aren’t any vampires, kickboxing detectives or pointy sticks)… also amazing though!


  5. @ Miss Moppet – I’m not sure that it’s meant to, although he does throw in a couple of hat-tips to divided cities such as Jerusalem and Berlin. The places it actually evoked for me weren’t such ‘obvious’ ones, rather, a pair of cities that really did used to be intensely culturally connected until the inhabitants were forced to pretend the others didn’t exist… (…and now I’ve summed up the set-up, which I said I wasn’t going to do.)


  6. I hope that you enjoy your book. Here’s mine.

  7. Ann Says:

    I have never read anything by China Miéville. This snippet was very intriguing and I had to read it a few times. Sounds like an interesting read.


Leave a Reply

