The hooded man

29 March 2010

It’s raining so hard that the main road out to London is covered in standing water. Even more reason than usual to stand back from the bus stop when the car transporters rumble past.

A man in a green hooded raincoat climbs on to the bus, carrying a pole with plastic bags wrapped around the point. A harpoon? A set of golf clubs? Part of a bike?

Some filed-down version of a scythe?

At least, since the clocks went forward yesterday, I didn’t have to meet him in the dark.

8 Responses to “The hooded man”


  1. I’m glad it was still light out as well!

    Story possibilities…


  2. Quite! I’m *sure* some odd things go on in that park…

  3. Ann Says:

    Glad it wasn’t a dark encounter. Sounds intriguing!

  4. Karen Gowen Says:

    Hmmm, sounds like a great beginning to an intriguing story. Keep writing!

  5. Old Kitty Says:

    Do you like wait as you get to a puddle splashing dangerously agains the edge of the pavement, check for traffic and the run like the winde past it before said traffic comes zooming along giving the pavement a dirty wash?!?!?!

    πŸ™‚

    Anyway, what could that instrument be I wonder? He could have been an athlete and that was his javelin? Or his pole vault stick thing? Either way I’d have given him my seat and called him sir.

    LOL!

    take care
    x

  6. Aimee Says:

    Oh i really like this! I do LOVE THE IDEA OF A SCYTHE. Seriously, I agree with everyone, there is a fabulous story under those plastic bags.

    x
    Aimee

  7. SF Says:

    A telescopic/collapsible scythe? And Death now wears a green hood. Could you see his face?!


  8. Actually I walk around puddles keeping as far back from them as I can! Can’t be too careful… πŸ™‚

    I didn’t get a good look at his face unfortunately. I didn’t trust myself not to give him a ‘Sorry, but exactly what dangerous implement have you just got on my bus with?’ look…


Leave a Reply

