Teaser Tuesday 12

20 April 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

Here goes from The Children’s Book by A. S. Byatt. More than the backfiring cars, the early morning starts or the red light on that hotel ceiling sensor that just wouldn’t stop flashing, this was responsible for a fair few of my sleepless nights last week.

She reminded him of something. He remembered what it was. It was the puppet Olimpia, from the brilliant performance of Anselm Stern, Olimpia who was an automaton – a puppet playing a puppet, where the other characters had been lifelike. (p. 134)

17 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 12”

  1. Aimee Says:

    hoorah! reading the book that I’m hopefully to read bext. Pretty teaser – but what are you thinking of it so far?


  2. Well actually I’ve finished it. The end came up and clobbered me and left me wanting a very strong drink…

  3. Andrea Says:

    Great imagery. Nice teaser.

  4. Lorin Says:

    That book looks so very, very good.

    Thanks for visiting.

  5. Old Kitty Says:

    I can see why!

    ” a puppet playing a puppet”!!!

    *shudder*!

    I’ve only ever read one AS Byatt book (Possession) maybe I ought to try this – but read it in daylight.

    🙂

    Take care
    x


  6. I can’t be doing with puppets at all. Worse than clowns! 🙂

  7. Marce Says:

    OH that dang flashing light :-0 I considered this book until I realised it was a chunkster.


  8. Nice teaser there… great idea for sharing book recommendations too. When I’m in a book store, I tend to thumb through and peek at random sentences too!

  9. Talli Says:

    Oh, fun! OK, this is from Naked in Knightsbridge:

    Another male voice joined Rodney’s in the bedroom. A full bladder trumped Jools’ curiousity, so she decided to do her investigating after the loo.

    Intriguing, non? 🙂


  10. Welcome, Marce, Talli and India! 🙂

    @ Talli – all the more so since I used to know both a Rodney and a Jools…


  11. Great teaser. I haven’t heard of this one.

    Thanks for visiting!

  12. lily Says:

    Oh! I’ve just finished reading this. About the end – I didn’t feel so much it came up and clobbered me but as if it totally got away from AS Byatt herself, and she simply couldn’t cope with her vast cast of characters after about two thirds of the way through and kind of – gave up. As did the editor. I loved the first two thirds and wished she had kept up that pace over a series of novels, like her ‘Babel Tower’ ones. As it was, the [spoiler?!] advent of WW1 felt less like a social catastrophe than a sort of massive authorly sigh of relief…


  13. Hi Lily – welcome!

    I interpreted the speed of the ending as an attempt to make us feel the shock that she wants us to understand the war had on those characters and the world they belonged to… the sudden destruction even though with hindsight it becomes clear things had been falling apart inside for a long time.

    But maybe I was overthinking the structure? If that *wasn’t* what she was doing then yeah, that would make it have a lot wrong with it…

  14. lily Says:

    Hi! I agree with you, I think that’s what she was trying to do. But for me the book started falling apart much earlier – maybe again this was meant to show how the Edwardian era outlived itself and was all a sham… but it was almost insulting how she disposed of the suffragettes and 4 years of war (not to mention several characters in which I felt she had minimal interest anyway) in a few pages..

    (excuse the rant – the only person I know who was reading this lost her copy on the bus when she was half way through so I’ve no one to discuss it with)


  15. Aargh – what a frustrating thing for someone to do! Probably even more frustrating for her, I suppose 🙂

    So the Babel Tower sequence are basically a more successful attempt to do the same thing? Going to have to give those a try I think… I’m afraid I’ve steered clear of most of Byatt’s stuff after having a bad experience with Possession years ago. Maybe it was down to me being too young or maybe it was down to the poetry!

  16. lily Says:

    They are four books set in the ’60s, similarly panoramic. I’ve only read babel tower but I enjoyed it very much


  17. That sounds like a recommendation, then! 🙂


Leave a Reply

