Teaser Tuesday 14

25 May 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

(How did it take this long for me to remember to do one of these? But it did. Perhaps work will let me have my brain back soon.)

From A Shadow in Summer by Daniel Abraham. It’s the first book in a quartet, which – with not a wasted word in the whole thing – is probably best eaten all at once.

The worst had been a man from the Westlands demonstrating with a cart the size of a dog that carried a small fire that boiled water. Steam from the boiling water set the cart’s wheels in motion, and it had careened off into the crowd, its master chasing after it. The utkhaiem had laughed as the man warned that the Galts were creating larger models that they used as war machines. (p. 91)

4 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 14”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    What an intriguing teaser. I will look into this book further, as I am most definitely teased. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/05/teaser-tuesdays-welcome-to-harmony.html

  2. Old Kitty Says:

    “the Utkhaiem” – for some reason I keep re-reading that word and repeating it – there’s something mesmerising about how it gets all my tongue twisted and my mouth widen! The Utkaheim.

    Brilliant.

    take care
    x


  3. Oh it’s a treat! The whole thing’s like that. (And if you’re going to devise a magic system based around poetry you have to be able to put your money where your mouth is…)


  4. I’m reading Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. This is from page 218:

    “I couldn’t remember what we were talking about . All I knew was that Patch’s gaze felt especially hot. I had to break eye contact, so I trained my eyes on my hands. They were glistening with sweat, and I slid them behind my back.”


Leave a Reply

