Teaser Tuesday 15

1 June 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

Since The Long Price Quartet was so brilliant, I don’t want to read anything fantastic for a while. So, it’s Child Star by Matt Thorne this week, since – depressingly – reality television has stopped being something dystopian a novelist made up.

Realising we weren’t going to go away, Wendy looked at me and said, ‘Do you like Madonna, Gerald?’

Perdita tried to cover her mouth as she exploded into sudden, shocked laughter. I didn’t understand what was funny, but knew the joke was at my expense. (p. 83)

Oh, I’ve just realised it ought to be ‘somewhere between lines 7 and 12’. I’m afraid I replaced that with ‘close my eyes and jab a finger at it’ weeks ago…

5 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 15”


  1. Yes, that’s sort of the way I pick my teasers, too. First I’ve heard of this author or book – hope you’re enjoying it.

    My teaser.

  2. Alice Audrey Says:

    I’m not picky. Jabbing a finger at it is fine. I tend to go with whatever strikes my fancy as I’m reading.

  3. Old Kitty Says:

    LOL! I like your methodology best! 🙂

    I always find Madonna funny so Gerard isn’t alone there.
    🙂
    Take care
    x

  4. Celia Says:

    I’m of the ‘close my eyes and just point’ variety myself. And you came up with a pretty good teaser, too!

    If you’d like, you can check out mine here.


  5. Hi Alice, welcome!

    I’m rather hoping the joke will have a payoff after all that… 🙂


Leave a Reply

