Teaser Tuesday 16

8 June 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

Dracula Cha Cha Cha by Kim Newman. It’s with vampires… but this is from ’98, well before the Pride-and-Prejudice-Jane-Slayre-and-zombies-and-there-must-be-one-about-werewolves-too-and-I’m-sure-I-heard-about-one-where-the-hero-was-Abe-Lincoln madness began. (It’s also the third volume of a trilogy where the other volumes are senselessly out of print, but works perfectly well as a stand-alone…)

James Bond, Tom Ripley and… Marcello Mastroianni…? all show up. To name but three.

Nevertheless, Tom admired Dracula, for his Van Gogh craze if nothing else. That taste, once daringly radical, suggested an openness to the new uncharacteristic of the dead. Also, that – whatever his current circumstance – he could still be a dangerous man, a predator. (p. 47)

20 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 16”

  1. Talli Roland Says:

    Great idea! I would do this but it involved getting up and I am way too lazy to move! 🙂


  2. Mummies, don’t forget the mash-up with mummies!
    And nice teaser, I might try locating the book.

    also thanks for dropping by on my blog


  3. Welcome Sullivan! I have to confess I did forget the mummies 🙂


  4. I haven’t read any of these types of books yet. Maybe i should check them out. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. Dee Says:

    Thanks for stopping by http://readseverything.blogspot.com/
    , I really enjoyed reading your TT too. So nice to see that you read P. Rothfuss ! I have to go through your Joe Abercrombie reviews next 😉


  6. Now this is what I’m talking about…teasers that influence me to spend more of the rent money on books.

    Malcolm

    http://jockstewart.typepad.com/writers_notebook/2010/06/teaser-tuesday-the-hellraiser-of-the-hollywood-hills.html


  7. Hi Sarah, Dee and Malcolm!

    I read all the Abercrombies before I started blogging, unfortunately! 🙂 Although I keep being tempted to read Best Served Cold again… usually when I’m in a very very foul mood!

  8. E.J. Stevens Says:

    Hopefully they’ll re-release this series. Great Teaser! My Teaser for Captivate is here.

    Happy reading. 🙂

    xx,
    E.J.
    From the Shadows

  9. Celia Says:

    Interesting…

    I’m not sure what it means, but it does sound fun. The dead being open to new things…does sound uncharacteristic!

    Thanks for coming by my blog today.

  10. AlexJ Says:

    Never heard of that one!

  11. Old Kitty Says:

    Oh my goodness, I love the title and the premise!! Dracula Cha-cha-cha! It’s like Kill Pussycat Kill! I’m so curious about this book, I’ll now see if I can get a copy! Fantastic – thank you!

    Take care
    x


  12. Newman absolutely knows his horror back to front, so that’s exactly as intended, I think 🙂

    The two previous volumes are Anno Dracula (1880s) and The Bloody Red Baron (WW1) but for some completely unfathomable reason they’re both out of print, even now the publishing world has gone vampire crazy!

  13. EL Fay Says:

    This book really sounds like something. I love vampires so I’ll have to check it out sometime.

  14. Black & Bookish Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Not sure if I have ever heard of this series.

    My teaser can be found here: http://blackandbookish.blogspot.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesday-june-8-graceling.html

  15. Beverly Says:

    Great teaser! Stop by and check out my teaser at The Wormhole.

  16. Aleksandra Says:

    Wow, great teaser!

  17. Novroz Says:

    Great teaser…the title sounds cute tho 🙂

    Thank you for reading my teaser earlier

  18. Tiina Says:

    That’s a great teaser!

    Greetings,
    Tiina


Leave a Reply

