Teaser Tuesday 17

15 June 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

The Double by José Saramago this week. It’s difficult to excerpt Saramago’s unique style for a teaser of a few lines long, so this sentence is possibly quite an imperfect pick…

The headmaster’s glasses were now safely in his top jacket pocket and he was saying, smiling, Off we go then, and Tertuliano Máximo Afonso will be unable to explain now or ever why the air seems to have thickened, as if impregnated with an invisible presence, as intense and powerful as the one that roused him brusquely from his bed after watching that first video.  (p. 69)

11 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 17”

  1. Tiina Says:

    I read The Double a year or two ago & liked it a lot. Saramago’s style is indeed unique.

    My teaser is here, if you want to take a look: http://abookblogofonesown.blogspot.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesday-picture-of-dorian-gray.html

    Greetings,
    Tiina

  2. Dee Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂
    What does this author write (genre-wise)? It seems very different from my usual read..


  3. This sounds intriguing.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I think you might have read The Lords of Discipline by Conroy. Prince of Tides is so wonderful. His style of writing is unlike anything I’ve read…maybe close to John Irving. Cheers!


  4. Not so imperfect! But you’re right – Saramago doesn’t really “tease” well. I have this one on my TBR shelf, and love the sound of it. Hope to get to it this summer.


  5. I’m reading Page after Page: Discover the Confidence & Passion You Need to Start Writing & Keep Writing. Here’s an excerpt from page 57:

    “Flannery O’Connor is famous for saying, ‘I don’t know if the muse is going to show up or not on any given day, but by golly, I’m going to be at my desk from 8 to 12 every morning in case she does.'”


  6. @ Dee – Saramago is (very) literary fiction, sometimes with some fantasy elements in a magic realism sort of way…

    @ Scobber – I think you’re right! Thanks 🙂

  7. Old Kitty Says:

    Oh it’s a perfect little tease – already there is so much going on here – and I love this line “…Afonso will be unable to explain now or ever..” Fab!

    take care
    x

  8. Novroz Says:

    As a non-English Native I have to read your teaser twice..it’s quite difficult.

    Thank you for stopping by earlier.

  9. Jessica Says:

    Lots going on in that little snippet. He does have a different style of writing too.


  10. Sounds like a powerful book. I’ll have to check it out.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  11. Steve Says:

    A very intriguing snippet and yet one that seems to offer no spoilers at all… will have to read the book now!


Leave a Reply

