Teaser Tuesday 18

22 June 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

The Standing Pool by Adam Thorpe. Two left-wing English academics rent an intimidating country house in the South of France for a six-month sabbatical… and so far it’s an exceptionally well set up thriller, or ghost story, or whatever it’s going to be. (They’ve moved there with their three children: I wonder whether it’s going to go all Don’t Look Now.)

The couple are both historians of the western exploitation of Africa, and Thorpe knows how to use their characters to deliver a large amount of exposition (our communication culture’s bloody dependence on coltan mining, for just one thing) while playing out clashes of class, politics and transatlantic ways-of-being with their expat landlords from the USA. The narrative bristles with foreshadowing, from an estate agent warning of torrential rains to a mother who can’t see her children playing beside a pool without wondering which one, if there were to be an accident, she would save first. I may want to read this all again straight afterwards to see what I can learn from how he does it.

‘Mend him, Mummy,’ she ordered, tearfully, after an account had been given to their mother in the kitchen: a din of overlapping narrative chords obliterating the earnest voices on the radio.

‘There are certain things you can’t ever mend,’ said Sarah, with an air of significance. She felt more disappointed than shocked, partly because the girls tended to embellish. ‘Are you sure it was going that fast? I can’t believe anyone would go that fast with kids around.’ (p. 57)

18 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 18”

  1. Lori Says:

    I hope that your enjoying your book. Here’s my teaser.

  2. Aimee Says:

    Great teaser! I want to know what is going on!

    My TT is here.

  3. Alice Audrey Says:

    Great teaser. Lots of sense of foreshadowing.


  4. I like your teaser!

    I’ve decided to reread the Harry Potter series. I don’t know why. Last weekend, I encouraged my husband to read them. Talking about them made me want to reread them. On on book 3.

    I’ve opened to page 181. Dementors have just caused Harry to lose consciousness during a Quidditch game. He’s now in the hospital wing:

    “Harry lay there, not saying a ord. they had lost… for the first time ever, he had lost a Quidditch match.
    After ten minutes of so, Madam Pomfrey came over to tell the team to leave him in peace.”


  5. Welcome Lori and Aimee!

    I’m more than a hundred pages in now but none the wiser…. although I’m pretty sure that once I’ve got to the end every single image I look at again will mean something extra!


  6. Great teaser. “Certain things you can’t ever mend” – very true, but what a frightening thought! I’ve got this one on my TBR list – sounds really intriguing.

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Based on the information and the teaser I have added this to my TBR list. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesday-day-for-night.html

  8. EL Fay Says:

    Just read some reviews of this and, wow, it sounds really good! The Standing Pool is definitely going on my TBR list.

  9. Ash Says:

    Hmm, makes me wan to know more. I hadn’t heard of this one yet. Thanks for stopping by my teaser- I do think the Passage is going to make a pretty big splash!

  10. pussreboots Says:

    Sounds like a tough but thought provoking read. My teaser is from How to Train Your Dragon. Thanks for stopping by.


  11. Interesting! Happy reading!

  12. Jennifer Says:

    Wow. Sounds like something pretty awful happened. Great teaser! Thanks for stopping my my teaser today. For anyone else who is interested, mine comes from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory this week. Here’s the link.

  13. Old Kitty Says:

    Oh wow!! Spooky!!! I love your summation more than the quote (sorry!) but it’s what you’ve written that’s sold this book for me! Thank you!
    🙂

    Take care
    x

  14. Christie Says:

    Fantastic teaser! Left me wanting more.

  15. Janet Ruth Says:

    Very interesting teaser!

    My TT this week is from Healer by Linda Windsor.


  16. Ooh, this seems like one for a cold, rainy night!


  17. OMG, the suspense!

    I can’t believe that I’ve never visited your blog before, but sometimes, I just click on the first 60 or 70 teasers and then stop.

    Big mistake!

    Mine is here:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/06/22/teaser-tuesdays-3/


  18. Hi there, welcome!

    I don’t think I’ve ever been less than the 100th post on the main teaser blog. The people who live in different time zones or aren’t out at work all day get a head start on me 🙂


Leave a Reply

