Teaser Tuesday 13

27 April 2010

This is how it works:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) ‘teaser’ sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your ‘teaser’ from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

This comes from Avilion by the British fantasist Robert Holdstock. Dreamlike storytelling and archetypal forests – but read his Mythago Wood first, or it won’t make much sense.

Jack watched him for a while, and then must have dozed off. He was awoken abruptly by the pressure of a spear-point in his chest, and in the darkness was aware that Huxley was standing over him, weapon in hand, growling, ‘Where is he? Where is he?’ (p. 67)

14 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday 13”

  1. Fence Says:

    I read Holdstock’s Celtika a couple of years ago, but while I really liked some parts of the writing, as a whole i just didn’t grab me. I should give him another go, there are a lot of positive reviews of his books out there.


  2. Hi there, welcome!

    I’m so glad it wasn’t just me who flagged a bit with Celtika. Everything in it was well-written but it just didn’t have the depth of his Mythago Wood stuff (it might have been better if it *hadn’t* had the Merlin overtones, actually, and had just stood up on its own)?

    Of course, now I’m wondering whether persevering with that trilogy would have made one or two slightly random bits of Avilion make more sense… 🙂

    • Fence Says:

      Well that just encourages me even further to read more Holdstock then. Must try and get hold of Mythago Wood at some point, it seems to be his highest regarded book


  3. That will teach him not to fall asleep. Great teaser.

  4. Jenny Q Says:

    ooohh, very intriguing! Thanks for stopping by Let Them Read Books today!


  5. I just went in my bag , but all I have is Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr. Here you go:

    “The position of the words in a sentence is the principal means of showing their relationship. The writer must, therefore, so far as possible, bring together the words, and groups of words that are related in thought, and keep apart those which are not so related.”

    Want to read on?

    I should try again when I get home.

  6. Old Kitty Says:

    Oooooh what a snippet!!

    It’s got me all intrigued – so much I’m writing down the “Mythago Wood” on my pad here to search up later!

    🙂

    Take care
    x

  7. Celia Says:

    Whoa! Suspenseful. I hope the mystery is solved soon. Great teaser!

    And thank you for coming by my blog!

  8. Becki Says:

    Excellent teaser! Just the right amount of “action” there!

    Great teaser!

    Here’s mine.

  9. Novroz Says:

    very intriguing! I like this kind of book, you know, suspenseful kind of book


  10. Never fall asleep when there are men with spears around! Good teaser! I hadn’t heard of this book or author before.


  11. Ooh.. will have to check this author out. I hadn’t heard of him before.

  12. Carol Says:

    Great teaser. I’ve never heard of the author before either.


  13. Neither had I until I read about him on someone else’s blog (I wish I could remember whose) about a year ago. I guess now I can pass him on! 🙂


Leave a comment